## How to

# Respond to the Other Parent's Objection to Your Move with the Children

Use this packet ONLY if:

- You have been properly served with an Objection about Moving with Children, and
- You want to respond to the Objection.

After the Objection is filed, you are allowed to move with the children unless:

- the court approved an order preventing your move, or
- the other parent scheduled a hearing on a motion to prevent the move within 15 days of you being served with the Objection about Moving with Children.

# Talk to a lawyer, if you can

These instructions have been developed by the King County Superior Court Family Law Information Center. They provide *legal information* only and **are not intended** to be a substitute for legal advice.

**Facilitators cannot provide legal advice or complete your forms for you.** It's a good idea to talk to a lawyer before you file any forms.

• You can get information about their services and a list of low-cost and free legal resources at <a href="https://kingcounty.gov/en/court/superior-court/courts-jails-legal-system/court-programs-children-families/divorce-custody-adoption/family-law-facilitators">https://kingcounty.gov/en/court/superior-court/courts-jails-legal-system/court-programs-children-families/divorce-custody-adoption/family-law-facilitators</a>.

## Step 1: The deadline for your response depends on how you were served.

You have: 20 days to respond if you were personally served in Washington State.

You have: **20 days** to respond, starting three days after the Objection was sent to you by certified

mail.

You have: **60 days** to respond if you were personally served <u>outside</u> Washington State.

If you miss your deadline, the other parent can get everything they asked for in the *Objection about Moving with Children and Petition about Changing a Parenting/Custody Order.* 

# Step 2: Fill out these forms.

#### All of these forms can be downloaded at: http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms

Form Name	Form Number	Notes	Completed
Response to Objection about Moving with Children and Petition about Changing a Parenting/Custody Order (Relocation)	FL Relocate 722		

## If the other parent asked to change the parenting plan, fill out this form too:

		,	,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Parenting Plan	FL All Family 140		

## If the other parent asked to change child support, fill out these forms too:

Child Support Order	FL All Family 130		
Child Support Worksheets	WSCSS- Worksheets		
Child Support Schedule and Instructions	WSCSS-Schedule	Use these instructions to calculate the Child Support Worksheets. Online Child Support Calculator available at: https://fortress.wa.gov/dshs/dcs/SSGen/Home	
Financial Declaration of (name):	FL All Family 131		
Sealed Financial Source Documents	FL All Family 011	Attach financial records to this coversheet.	

You must provide copies of financial records, including:

- Your W-2s and complete personal tax returns for the past 2 years
- Your most recent pay stubs (at least 6 months)
- Complete partnership/corporate tax returns for the past 2 years if you have a 5% interest or more
- Statements from all of your banks and financial institutions for the past 6 months

*Note:* The other parent can ask you for a copy of your check register. If this happens, you will have 14 days to provide it.

## How many copies do I need?

- Original set to file with Clerk's Office.
- Copy 1 is to serve the other parent.
- Copy 2 you will keep for your records.

## Step 3: File the forms with the Clerk's Office.

You can file your forms by either bringing your original forms to the Clerk's Office (room 2C in Kent and E-609 in Seattle),

#### <u>OR</u>

You can file your case online on the Clerk's website at: <a href="https://kingcounty.gov/en/dept/dja/courts-jails-legal-system/court-forms-document-filing/filing">https://kingcounty.gov/en/dept/dja/courts-jails-legal-system/court-forms-document-filing/filing</a>. If you have questions about e-filing call 206-477-3000, or email <a href="mailto:eServices@kingcounty.gov">eServices@kingcounty.gov</a>.

## **Step 4:** Have the other party served.

#### What to Serve

All forms you filled out in Step 1 need to be served to the other parent.

#### How to Serve

You may deliver or mail the documents yourself (if there is not an order preventing you from having contact). If the other party has an attorney, deliver or mail the forms to the attorney instead.

After you have delivered the forms to the other party or attorney, fill out the *Proof of Mailing or Hand Delivery* form. File the original with the Clerk's Office and keep a copy for your records.

You may also have someone else serve the other party or his/her attorney for you. The server must be over 18. After serving, the server fills out the *Proof of Mailing or Hand Delivery* form and returns it to you. File the original with the Clerk's Office and keep a copy for your records

## **Step 5:** Follow your case schedule.

If you were not served with the *Order Setting Case Schedule*, you can get a copy from the Clerk's Office.

Your case may be referred to Family Court Services for mediation on the parenting plan.

## Step 6: Finishing your case

There are two ways to finish the case:

#### Agreement

If you come to an agreement before trial, you can finish your case early. For more information, please visit: <a href="https://kingcounty.gov/en/court/superior-court/courts-jails-legal-system/court-programs-children-families/divorce-custody-adoption/family-law-facilitators">https://kingcounty.gov/en/court/superior-court/courts-jails-legal-system/court-programs-children-families/divorce-custody-adoption/family-law-facilitators</a>.

#### Trial

If you and the other party cannot come to an agreement about your case you will have a trial before a Judge. Make sure that both your email and mailing address are up-to-date so that the court can contact you. Instructions on preparing for trial are available at:

https://kingcounty.gov/en/court/superior-court/courts-jails-legal-system/court-programs-children-families/divorce-custody-adoption/how-to-resources-family-law

About 4 to 6 weeks before your trial you will get an order in the mail telling you to come to court for a *Pre-Trial Conference*. At that hearing, the Judge will give you an Order. The Order will tell you what forms you need to finish your case and when they are due.

## **Informal Family Law Trial (IFLT):**

**Requirements to select an IFLT.** All parties must state whether they wish to proceed with an IFLT or a traditional trial. All parties must agree in order to proceed with an IFLT. Each party shall make its selection in writing using the <a href="Family Law Trial Selection Form">Family Law Trial Selection Form</a>. The Family Law Trial Selection form must be filed prior to the trial commencing. For cases in which there is a pretrial conference hearing, the selection shall be made at that hearing. If there is no pretrial conference hearing, the selection shall be made in the <a href="Joint Confirmation of Trial Readiness">Joint Confirmation of Trial Readiness</a> form. If a party does not file a selection using either form prior to the trial commencing, the case will proceed as a traditional trial. For more information on IFLT see LFLR 23

# Step 7: Documents needed for finalizing

## You will need these forms:

Final Order and Findings on Objection about Moving with Children and Petition about Changing a Parenting/Custody Order (Relocation)	FL Relocate 735	
Final Parenting Plan	FL All Family 140	

#### If a new order of child support is requested you will also need these forms:

Child Support Order	FL All Family 130	
Child Support Worksheets	WSCSS-	П
	Worksheets	Ч

Child Support Schedule & Instructions	This is information to use to calculate Child Support Worksheets. Online Child Support Calculation software is available at https://fortress.wa.gov/dshs/dcs/SSGen/Home		
Financial Declaration of (name):	FL All Family 131		
Sealed Financial Source Documents (Coversheet)	FL All Family 011	This form goes on the front of the financial documents you file.	

If your case involves financial matters you may have to provide copies of financial documents, including:

- Your W-2s and complete personal tax returns for the past 2 years
- Your most recent pay stubs (at least 6 months)
- Complete partnership/corporate tax returns for the past 2 years if you have a 5% interest or more
- Statements from all of your banks and financial institutions for the past 6 months