FLIC 6.1

How to
Serve Documents to the Other Party In
Your Court Case

Use these instructions to give the other party documents for:

a new case;
a motion for contempt;

a motion for immediate restraining order; or
a motion filed after a case has been finished.

For new cases, you do not need to serve the other party if the other party has signed
the petition or an Agreement to Join Petition (FL All Family 119).

Talk to a lawyer if you can

These instructions have been developed by the King County Superior Court Family Law
Information Center. They provide legal information only and are not intended to be a
substitute for legal advice.

Facilitators cannot provide legal advice or complete your forms for you. It’s a good idea to
talk to a lawyer before you file any forms.

e You can get information about their services and a list of low-cost and free legal resources at
https://kingcounty.gov/en/court/superior-court/courts-jails-legal-system/court-programs-
children-families/divorce-custody-adoption/family-law-facilitators.
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OPTION 1

Step 1: Ask the other party to accept a copy of the documents

If the other party agrees to receive the documents directly from you, then ask the other

party to complete the Service Accepted form (provided that no order restrains you from
having contact):

Form Name Form Number

Service Accepted FL ALL Family 117

Step 2: Take the Service Accepted form to the Clerk’s Office

The Service Accepted form must be filed in the court file through the Clerk’s Office (E-
609 in Seattle, 2C in Kent).

E-filing instructions can be found on the Clerk’s Office website:
https://kingcounty.gov/en/dept/dja/courts-jails-legal-system/court-forms-document-
filing/filing

OPTION 2

Step 1: Have a copy handed to the other party

Any person, other than yourself, who is at least 18 years old, must hand the documents
directly to the other party.

You can hire a company or the Sheriff’'s Office in the county in which the other party
resides to serve the documents.

Step 2: Server needs to complete Proof of Service form

The person who handed the documents to the other party must fill out the below form:

Form Name Form Number

Proof of Personal Service FL ALL Family 101

NOTE: Personal Service Made Outside of Washington State
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http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20117%20Service%20Accepted.doc
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(1) If the other person lives outside of Washington State or you cannot serve the other
person in Washington State, you must also file a Declaration: Personal Service
Could Not Be Made in Washington (FL ALL Family 102) form explaining why
personal service cannot be made in Washington. File the original of this form with
the Clerk’s office and keep a copy for your records. Failure to file this form makes
service invalid.

(2) When service happens outside Washington State, the server must have their
signature on the Proof of Personal Service form either notarized by a notary public or
sworn to before a court clerk.

Step 3: Take the Proof of Personal Service to the Clerk’s Office

The Proof of Personal Service form must be filed in the court file through the Clerk’s
Office (E-609 in Seattle and 2C in Kent).

E-filing instructions can be found on the Clerk’s Office website:
https://kingcounty.gov/en/dept/dja/courts-jails-legal-system/court-forms-document-

filing/filing

Other Options for Service: Mail or Publication

If you do your best to follow these instructions but the other party cannot be personally served,
you can ask the court for permission to serve via mail or publication.

You must have a court order before you can serve by mail (to a last known address, for
example) or publication (publishing a legal notice in the newspaper).

For instructions on how to get a court order to serve by mail or publication, ask the Facilitator.
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