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How to 

Ask for an Order of Default 
If the Respondent has appeared 

Use these instructions if the other party appeared at any court hearings, or filed any documents, but 
has not filed the correct Response form, and you want the court to enter an Order of Default against 
him/her. 

 
 
Even if the Judge signs the Order on Motion for Default, you must still finalize your case. You can 
ask the Family Law Facilitator for information on how to finish your case. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Talk to a lawyer if you can 

These instructions have been developed by the King County Superior Court Family Law Information 
Center. They provide legal information only and are not intended to be a substitute for legal advice. 

 
Facilitators cannot provide legal advice or complete your forms for you. It’s a good idea to talk to a 
lawyer before you file any forms. 

You can get information about their services and a list of low-cost and free legal resources at 
https://kingcounty.gov/en/court/superior-court/courts-jails-legal-system/court-programs-children- 
families/divorce-custody-adoption/family-law-facilitators 

https://kingcounty.gov/en/court/superior-court/courts-jails-legal-system/court-programs-children-families/divorce-custody-adoption/family-law-facilitators
https://kingcounty.gov/en/court/superior-court/courts-jails-legal-system/court-programs-children-families/divorce-custody-adoption/family-law-facilitators
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Step 1: Fill out these forms. 
 

All these forms can be downloaded at: www.courts.wa.gov/forms 
Form Name Form Number Notes Completed 

Motion for Default FL All Family 161 
This is where you tell the court 
why the other party is in default. 



Order on Motion for Default FL All Family 162 
Fill this out the way you would 
like the Judge to decide. 



 
Proof of Mailing or Hand Delivery 

 
FL All Family 112 

 
See Step 5. 

 


 

Step 2: Fill out the Notice of Court Date. 

This form can be downloaded at: https://kingcounty.gov/en/dept/dja/courts-jails-legal- 
system/court-forms-document-filing/forms 

Form Name Form Number Notes Completed 

Notice of Court Date- Chief UFC 
Judge 

Chief UFC 
 



To set your court date you must fill out and file the Notice of Court Date. That form lets you 
choose a date for your court hearing. The date you choose cannot be before the other party’s 
response deadline. This means the hearing must be at least: 

 

20 days from the date they were personally served if they were personally 
served in Washington 

60 days from the date they were personally served if they were personally 
served outside of Washington, or served by publication (because of a court 
order) 

90 days from the date they were served by mail (because of a court order) 

 
 
The date you choose must be at least 14 days after the day you file the Notice of Court Date and at least 14 

days from the day you plan to have the other party served. Allow 17 days if serving by mail. 
Check the box that says: 

☐ Motions for Default when there has been an appearance (Friday 1:30 pm) 
 

Make 3 copies of your documents. 

• Original set to file with Clerk’s office 

• Copy 1 is to serve on the other party 

• Copy 2 you will keep for your records 

http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/
https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20161%20Motion%20for%20Default_2020%2003.doc
https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20162%20Order%20on%20Motion%20for%20Default_2020%2003.doc
https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20112%20Proof%20of%20Mailing%20or%20Hand%20Delivery%202022%2001.docx
https://kingcounty.gov/en/dept/dja/courts-jails-legal-system/court-forms-document-filing/forms
https://kingcounty.gov/en/dept/dja/courts-jails-legal-system/court-forms-document-filing/forms
https://cdn.kingcounty.gov/-/media/king-county/depts/superior-court/documents/forms/notice-of-court-date/notice-date-family-law-chief-ufc-pdf.pdf?rev=c20cfa898ad24784acfab7e24b9a2e19&hash=970357AAEA1848FEDC4165F840216846
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Step 3: Take your original forms to the Clerk’s Office. 

File the originals of the following two forms with the clerk’s office (Seattle: E-609; Kent: 2C) at 
least 14 calendar days before your hearing date: 

 

Notice of Court Date- Chief UFC 
Judge 

 

Motion for Default FL All Family 161 

Step 4: Judge’s working copy 
 

WORKING COPIES: Working copies through e-working copies are strongly encouraged. If you 
cannot submit e-working copies you may deliver a working copy to Room C-203 at the 
downtown courthouse or email a copy to Sutton.Court@kingcounty.gov. If you do not provide e- 
working copies you must file a Submission List with the last set of documents submitted to the 
court and email a copy to the bailiff at Sutton.Court@kingcounty.gov. 

PROPOSED ORDERS: 

 

Email the following order to the chief UFC bailiff in Word format. 

 

Order on Motion for Default FL All Family 162 

 
You can find the contact information for the Chief UFC Judge at 
https://kingcounty.gov/en/court/superior-court/about-superior-court/judges-staff/judges 
Find the chief UFC judge on the list of judges and click on their name. 

 

Step 5: Have the other party served 

What to serve 
Serve the other party with a copy of all forms except Proof of Mailing or Hand Delivery form. 

 
How to serve 
If no order restrains you from having contact with the other party, you may deliver or mail the 
forms yourself at least 14 calendar days before the hearing (add 3 more days for mailing). 

If the other party has an attorney, deliver, or mail the forms to the attorney instead. After you 
have delivered or mailed the forms to the other party or attorney, fill out the Proof of Mailing or 
Hand Delivery. File the original with the Clerk’s Office, keep a copy for your records, and bring it 
with you to the hearing. 

 
You may also have someone else serve the other party or his/her attorney for you. The server 
must be over 18. After serving, the server fills out the Proof of Mailing or Hand Delivery form and 
returns it to you. File the original with the Clerk’s Office, keep a copy for your records, and bring 
it with you to the hearing. 

https://view.officeapps.live.com/op/view.aspx?src=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.courts.wa.gov%2Fforms%2Fdocuments%2FFL%2520All%2520Family%2520161%2520Motion%2520for%2520Default_06_2024%2520(2).docx&wdOrigin=BROWSELINK
mailto:Sutton.Court@kingcounty.gov
https://www.kingcounty.gov/~/media/courts/Clerk/forms/Submission_List_final.ashx?la=en
mailto:Sutton.Court@kingcounty.gov.
https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20162%20Order%20on%20Motion%20for%20Default_2020%2003.doc
https://kingcounty.gov/en/court/superior-court/about-superior-court/judges-staff/judges
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Step 6: Attend your hearing 

All hearings will be conducted remotely unless directed to appear in person by the court. For the 
Default calendar on Friday at 1:30 p.m., go to www.zoom.us and enter the Meeting ID listed on the 
form, Notice of Court Date-Chief UFC Judge. 

http://www.zoom.us/

