MINOR GUARDIANSHIP — WHAT TO DO NEXT

You have now started your minor guardianship case by filing the Summons and Petition.
Attached to this notice is a Case Schedule. It is important that you read the Case Schedule
carefully. The Court has set a 60-day hearing about your case. If you have not already, you
must do the following, AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

1. Get copies of Criminal and CPS backgrounds: You must request criminal history
and CPS background information for the proposed guardian(s) and any residents of
the guardian(s)’ household. You must:

a. Get the Washington Access to Criminal History Report
a. You can get a copy of this report online at WATCH Overview -
Washington State Patrol or you can get a copy in person or by mail. For
more information visit: Criminal History - WSP (wa.gov)
b. Putthe Criminal History Cover Sheet (form GDN M 407) on top of the
criminal history report.

b. Submit the Motion and Order to DCYF to Release CPS Information
a. Download and fill out the Motion for DCYF Order and Order to DCYF to
Release CPS Information (GDN M 404 and GDN M 405).
b. The order must be signed by a judicial officer. Submit the motion to the bailiff for
your assigned judge as listed in your case schedule.

2. Decide if a visitor needs to be appointed. A visitor is a person appointed by the Court
to investigate certain matters about the case and report to the Court. A visitor must be
appointed if:

a. The minor is 12 years old or over and does not have his/her own lawyer; OR
b. Any party who must be served in the case is unable to be served; OR
c. You or any party believes a parent of the child has waived notice about this case.

You must file a motion to appoint a visitor if a visitor is required in your case. Forms for
the motion and proposed order to appoint a visitor can be found HERE. The motion
must be set in front of the judge assigned to you in your case schedule.

3. Prepare a Notice of Hearing (GDN M 101) for the 60-day hearing. Use the date you
were given on your case schedule to complete the notice of hearing.

4. Serve the Summons, Petition, Statement, and Notice. Serving documents is described in RCW
4.28.080 and generally means personal delivery of the documents by a person not
involved in the case. These documents must be served on the following people:

a. The child's parents

b. The child (if age 12 or older) unless the court ordered that the Reasons for
Minor Guardianship not be served on the child.

c. Any current guardian or person with court-ordered custody


https://watch.wsp.wa.gov/
https://watch.wsp.wa.gov/
https://watch.wsp.wa.gov/
https://www.wsp.wa.gov/crime/criminal-history/
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/GDN%20M%20407%20Criminal%20History%20Record%20Cover%20Sheet.pdf
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/GDN%20M%20404%20and%20GDN%20M%20405%20%20Motion%20for%20DCYF%20Order%20and%20Order%20to%20DCYF%20to%20Release%20CPS%20Info.pdf
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/GDN%20M%20404%20and%20GDN%20M%20405%20%20Motion%20for%20DCYF%20Order%20and%20Order%20to%20DCYF%20to%20Release%20CPS%20Info.pdf
https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/?fa=forms.contribute&formID=141
https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/GDN%20M%20101%20Notice%20of%20Hearing_Minor%20Guardianship%20Petition_2021%2003.pdf
https://kingcounty.gov/~/media/courts/superior-court/docs/family/family-law-instructions/06-01-how-to-serve-your-initial-court-documents-pdf.ashx?la=en
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=4.28.080
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=4.28.080

5. Mail the Petition and Notice: These documents can be mailed and must be sent to:
e Any adult with primary care or custody of the minor who is NOT a parent, or
who had primary care or custody of the child for:60 days or more in the last 2
years, or
e 730 days during the last 5 years
Any non-parent with custody of the minor under a prior non-parental custody order
Any person nominated by a minor 12 or older to be guardian
Any person nominated by a parent to be guardian
Each grandparent and sibling of the minor, if known
Any conservator for the minor in any jurisdiction
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6. Complete and file with the Court the required Disclosure of Bankruptcy or Criminal History:
GDN ALL 002 Disclosure of Bankruptcy or Criminal History

7. All proposed guardians must complete the on-line lay guardian training : Washington State
Courts - Guardian Portal

8. Complete the court required checklist. You can find the checklist here: 60 Day Hearing Minor
Guardianship Checklist.

Fill in every item if possible; if not, fill in every item you can. File the completed checklist in your
court file and send a copy to the bailiff for your assigned judge at least two weeks before your
60-day hearing. In the subject line of your email to the bailiff you must include your case
number and the words “60 Day checklist for hearing scheduled on xx/xx/xxxx (Date of hearing)
at (Time of hearing)”

9. Send copies of all documents you have filed in your case to the bailiff for your assigned judge
at least one week before your 60-day hearing. This should include a copy of the petition and
hearing notice, proof of service, proof of notice, the WATCH report, and the checklist. To send
these to the court, send the copies to the bailiff for the judge assigned to your case. In the
subject line of your email to the bailiff you must include your case number and the words
“Working Copies for hearing scheduled on xx/xx/xxxx (Date of hearing) at (Time of hearing)”

10. Attend your 60-day hearing: At your 60-day hearing, the Court will look at whether the case is
ready to move forward including all the steps listed above.

If there are items missing from the checklist or if you don’t send the checklist to the
court before your scheduled hearing your case will be delayed. The court will likely
schedule a later hearing for you to come back to court to show you have completed
those steps.

NOTE: This document lists the basic steps for a guardianship. If you need a guardianship order BEFORE the 60-
day hearing, you must file a motion for an immediate emergency guardianship.

This document is not a list of all issues or possible hearings that can occur in a guardianship.
You should consult the law (RCW 11.130) and/or consult an attorney.


https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/GDN%20ALL%20002%20Disclosure%20Guardian%20or%20Conservator.pdf
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.courts.wa.gov%2Fguardianportal%2Findex.cfm%3Ffa%3Dguardianportal.title11minor&data=04%7C01%7Cbramoore%40kingcounty.gov%7C07653a1c1a224147798008d91ed46238%7Cbae5059a76f049d7999672dfe95d69c7%7C0%7C0%7C637574719795677166%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=dqwz4kb%2BzhBZeSEDdW1IiUuhBulDqCPsX3hQhItBqNU%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.courts.wa.gov%2Fguardianportal%2Findex.cfm%3Ffa%3Dguardianportal.title11minor&data=04%7C01%7Cbramoore%40kingcounty.gov%7C07653a1c1a224147798008d91ed46238%7Cbae5059a76f049d7999672dfe95d69c7%7C0%7C0%7C637574719795677166%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=dqwz4kb%2BzhBZeSEDdW1IiUuhBulDqCPsX3hQhItBqNU%3D&reserved=0
https://cdn.kingcounty.gov/-/media/king-county/depts/superior-court/documents/guardianship/60-day-checklist-pdf.pdf?rev=5d172536eeac41e5b241a65d4b8cb542&hash=768E94F76115D7371F587050200AD489
https://cdn.kingcounty.gov/-/media/king-county/depts/superior-court/documents/guardianship/60-day-checklist-pdf.pdf?rev=5d172536eeac41e5b241a65d4b8cb542&hash=768E94F76115D7371F587050200AD489
https://www.washingtonlawhelp.org/files/C9D2EA3F-0350-D9AF-ACAE-BF37E9BC9FFA/attachments/27526F5E-D0A9-4B7D-902A-0DC8551FB3DB/9952en_working-copies.pdf
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=11.130.225

